STIGViewer Support

Firefox must prevent the user from quickly deleting data.

Overview

Finding IDVersionRule IDIA ControlsSeverity
V-251562FFOX-00-000018SV-251562r1156569_ruleCCI-000166medium
Description
There should not be an option for a user to "forget" work they have done. This is required to meet nonrepudiation controls.
STIGDate
Mozilla Firefox Security Technical Implementation Guide2025-11-25

Related Frameworks

1 mapping across 3 frameworks
SCF0 mappings

No source states a mapping between these directly.

Also reachable in 3 hops (1) derived by us, not asserted by any source

Each of these is a route we composed by chaining published mappings. No publisher states a relationship between the two endpoints.

MON-09Non-Repudiation
1.00
NIST 800-530 mappings

No source states a mapping between these directly.

Also reachable in 2 hops (53) derived by us, not asserted by any source

Each of these is a route we composed by chaining published mappings. No publisher states a relationship between the two endpoints.

AC-11Device Lock
1.00
AC-11(1)Pattern-hiding Displays
1.00
AC-17(1)Monitoring and Control
1.00
AC-2(1)Automated System Account Management
1.00
AC-2(11)Usage Conditions
1.00
AC-2(2)Automated Temporary and Emergency Account Management
1.00
AC-2(3)Disable Accounts
1.00
AC-2(4)Automated Audit Actions
1.00
AC-3Access Enforcement
1.00
AC-3(7)Role-based Access Control
1.00

+43 more (top 10 by confidence shown)

CCI1 mapping

Details

Check Text (C-251562r1156569_chk)

Enter "about:policies" in the browser address bar. If "DisableForgetButton" is not displayed under Policy Name or the Policy Value is not "true", this is a finding.

Fix Text (F-54951r1156568_fix)

Windows group policy: 1. Open the group policy editor tool with "gpedit.msc". 2. Navigate to Policy Path: Computer Configuration >> Administrative Templates >> Mozilla >> Firefox. Policy Name: Disable Forget Button Policy State: Enabled macOS "plist" file: Add the following: <key>DisableForgetButton</key> <true/> Linux "policies.json" file: Add the following in the policies section: "DisableForgetButton": true