STIGViewer Support

The F5 BIG-IP appliance must terminate shared/group account credentials when members leave the group.

Overview

Finding IDVersionRule IDIA ControlsSeverity
V-266065F5BI-DM-300003SV-266065r1024596_ruleCCI-002142medium
Description
A shared/group account credential is a shared form of authentication that allows multiple individuals to access the network device using a single account. If shared/group account credentials are not terminated when individuals leave the group, the user that left the group can still gain access even though they are no longer authorized. There may also be instances when specific user actions need to be performed on the network device without unique administrator identification or authentication. Examples of credentials include passwords and group membership certificates.
STIGDate
F5 BIG-IP TMOS NDM Security Technical Implementation Guide2025-06-12

Related Frameworks

1 mapping across 2 frameworks
NIST 800-530 mappings

No source states a mapping between these directly.

Also reachable in 2 hops (39) derived by us, not asserted by any source

Each of these is a route we composed by chaining published mappings. No publisher states a relationship between the two endpoints.

AC-2(1)Automated System Account Management
1.00
AC-2(10)Shared and Group Account Credential Change
1.00
AC-2(11)Usage Conditions
1.00
AC-2(2)Automated Temporary and Emergency Account Management
1.00
AC-2(3)Disable Accounts
1.00
AC-2(4)Automated Audit Actions
1.00
AC-3Access Enforcement
1.00
AC-4Information Flow Enforcement
1.00
AC-6(10)Prohibit Non-privileged Users from Executing Privileged Functions
1.00
AC-7Unsuccessful Logon Attempts
1.00

+29 more (top 10 by confidence shown)

CCI1 mapping

Details

Check Text (C-266065r1024596_chk)

From the BIG-IP GUI: 1. System. 2. Users. 3. User List. From the BIG-IP console, type the following command: tmsh list auth user If there are any shared accounts that must not be active, this is a finding.

Fix Text (F-69891r1023445_fix)

From the BIG-IP GUI: 1. System. 2. Users. 3. User List. 4. Check the box next to any shared/group accounts that must not be active. 5. Click "Delete". 6. Click "Delete" again on the next page. From the BIG-IP console, type the following command: tmsh delete auth user <username> tmsh save sys config