STIGViewer Support

Apple visionOS 2 must be configured to [selection: wipe protected data, wipe sensitive data] upon unenrollment from MDM.

Overview

Finding IDVersionRule IDIA ControlsSeverity
V-276389AVOS-02-009900SV-276389r1146663_ruleCCI-001033medium
Description
When a mobile device is no longer managed by MDM technologies, its protected/sensitive data must be sanitized because it will no longer be protected by the MDM software, putting it at much greater risk of unauthorized access and disclosure. At least one of the two options must be selected. SFR ID: FMT_SMF_EXT.2.1
STIGDate
Apple visionOS 2 Security Technical Implementation Guide2025-09-30

Related Frameworks

1 mapping across 3 frameworks
SCF0 mappings

No source states a mapping between these directly.

Also reachable in 3 hops (3) derived by us, not asserted by any source

Each of these is a route we composed by chaining published mappings. No publisher states a relationship between the two endpoints.

DCH-09System Media Sanitization
0.50
DCH-09.3Sanitization of Personal Data (PD)
0.50
DCH-09.4First Time Use Sanitization
0.50
NIST 800-530 mappings

No source states a mapping between these directly.

Also reachable in 2 hops (1) derived by us, not asserted by any source

Each of these is a route we composed by chaining published mappings. No publisher states a relationship between the two endpoints.

MP-6(3)Nondestructive Techniques
1.00
CCI1 mapping

Details

Check Text (C-276389r1146663_chk)

Note: Not all Apple visionOS deployments involve MDM. If the site uses an authorized alternative to MDM for distribution of configuration profiles (Apple Configurator), this check procedure is not applicable. This check procedure is performed on the Apple visionOS management tool or on the visionOS device. In the Apple visionOS management tool, for each managed app, verify the app is configured to be removed when the MDM profile is removed. On the Vision Pro: 1. Open the Settings app. 2. Tap "General". 3. Tap "VPN & Device Management". 4. Tap the configuration profile from the visionOS management tool containing the management policy. 5. Tap "Apps". 6. Tap an app and verify "App and data will be removed when device is no longer managed" is listed. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for each managed app in the list. If one or more managed apps are not set to be removed upon device MDM unenrollment, this is a finding.

Fix Text (F-80449r1146662_fix)

Install a configuration profile to delete all managed apps upon device unenrollment.